Upon successful completion of the Driver Education program , Classroom, Simulation and Behind The Wheel (BTW), students will receive a "Virtual Blue Slip" from the Illinois State Board of Education. To see if your student has received his or her "Virtual Blue Slip" click here. A student must wait to receive their "Virtual Blue Slip" before going to the Secretary of State's Driver Service Facility.
To obtain an Illinois Driver's License students will need to bring the following documents with them to the Secretary of State's Driver Service Facility:
- Instruction Permit / Receipt
- A Letter Addressed to You at Your Home Address
- Certified Birth Certificate (Hospital Copy Not Accepted)
- Social Security Card
- Cooperative Driver Testing Program (CDTP) Driving Test Form - If Applicable
- Proof of Insurance (Insurance Card)
- A vehicle that will pass an inspection
- 50-Hour Certification Sheet
- Parent Affidavit
Students will be expected to take a driving test in a vehicle provided by you (if you have not received the CDTP certificate from your instructor). Even with the CDTP certificate you may still be subject to a spot check (Driving Test) by the Secretary of State. Be prepared to have your picture taken for your driver's license.
You can take your test at a local Secretary of State Driver Service Facility. The Niles Facility and the Deerfield Facility (Lake-Cook Plaza) are the closest. Be prepared for a lengthy wait in line. Two other facilities in the area are Libertyville and Schaumburg. See your instructor for information sheets about all four (4) facilities.
***New Changes to Teen Driving Laws***
Effective January 1, 2008 - Parental Access to Teen Driving Records: Effective January 1, 2008. Parents may view their teen's (under age 18) driving record free through the Secretary of State Web site. Several security features will protect the teen's privacy and ensure that only the parents/legal guardians are granted access to the teen's driving record. Parental Access to Teen Driving Records
Effective January 1, 2008 - Driver's License Suspension for Alcohol Consumption: A person under the age of 21 who is found guilty or granted court supervision for a violation of state law or local ordinance relating to illegal consumption, possession, purchase or receipt of alcohol, regardless of whether a vehicle was involved will face a loss of driving privileges, in addition to any fine imposed. Court supervision for any of these offenses will result in a 3 month suspension of driving privileges; a first conviction results in a 6 month suspension of driving privileges; a second conviction results in a 12 month suspension of driving privileges and a third or subsequent conviction will result in a revocation of driving privileges.
Effective January 1, 2008 - Street Racing: Driving privileges will be revoked for any person convicted of street racing, and law enforcement may impound the vehicle for up to five days.
Effective June 22, 2006 , PA 94-0897 strengthens the Illinois Graduated Driver's License program by increasing the amount of practice time to 50 hours, including 10 hours of night driving, young drivers will need before being able to obtain a driver's license. This new law requires the parent, legal guardian or other responsible adult to provide written consent at the time of driver's license application verifying the teen is sufficiently prepared and able to safely operate a motor vehicle.
To find out more about Graduated Licensing click here.
Good Luck...and Safe Driving!